Healing The Chakras With The Senses

Rainbow Eye

The natural physical senses of the human body are the physiological methods of perception within the external world. There are the physical senses of hearing, taste, touch, smell and sight, and also the 6th sense; extra-sensory perception is for perceiving what is beyond the physical and for exploring the inner world of thought, emotion and spirit itself. Each of the main Seven Chakras correspond to one of the Senses or sensory organs within the human body.

In essence, the chakra energy centers themselves can be likened to sense-organs for the energy/spiritual body (astral body). They are not actual organs in the physical sense, but the chakras are associated with/correspond to the major organs and glands of the physical body. It is not through the actual chakras that one sees or hears as they would with their physical eyes and ears, but rather they are energetic-sensory organs through which one has the ability to utilize the physical senses without relying on the physical organs themselves.

The seven major chakras also correspond to the seven endocrine glands and the major nerve plexuses, which associates each chakra with the vital organs and other various parts of the physical body. All of our senses, perceptions, emotions, thoughts and states of awareness can be divided into seven categories that connect to each of the 7 major chakras.

ROOT CHAKRA (Muladhara)

Sense of Smell; Scent

Sensory Organ: Nose

Gland: Adrenals / reproductive glands

Color: Red

SACRAL CHAKRA (Swadisthana)

Sense of Taste; Appetite (savor)

Sensory Organ: Toungue

Gland: Gonads (testes in men, ovaries in women)

Color: Orange


Sense of Sight; Vision (focus)

Sensory Organ: Eyes

Gland: Pancreas

Color: Yellow


Sense of Touch; Feeling

Sensory Organ: Skin (Hands)

Gland: Thymus Gland

Color: Green


Sense of Hearing; Listening (also, speaking)

Sensory Organs: Ears / Mouth (vocal chords)

Gland: Thyroid & Parathyroid Gland

Color: Blue


Sense of Intuition/Inner Sight; Insight (the 6th Sense/extra-sensory-perception)

Sensory Organ: Left Eye; Lower Brain

Gland: Pituitary Gland

Color: Indigo

CROWN CHAKRA (Sahasrara)

Sense of Empathy; Unity

Sensory Organ: Right Eye; Cerebral Cortex

Gland: Pineal Gland

Color: Violet

Each plant carries a vibrational frequency that corresponds to one of the seven chakras. The vibrational qualities of each plant will assist in clearing, balancing and energizing your aura and your chakras. {more}

You can receive the gifts of plants by drinking herbal teas or elixers or by using plants or flowers for aromatherapy; consuming certain edible varieties of plants or eating more raw fruits and vegetables; and by simply acknowledging the blessing that nature brings. Taking the time to sit or walk in nature to admire the beauty and absorb the tranqulity it brings will benefit your mind, body and spirit.