About The Aura - The Human Energy Field

Surrounding the human body is a subtle and luminous field of energy called the Aura. The Aura is also known as the Bio-Electric Energy Field, the Odic Force, and the Light Body. All living things, such as animals, plants, rocks and crystals manifest an aura. Even objects physical objects have a subtle energy field surrounding them. In ancient and modern religious/spiritual art the aura is often depicted as a luminous halo or aureola surrounding a person or object. The field of Quantum Physics is also beginning to show more scientific evidence of subtle energy and auric fields.

Auric human energy field of colors The Aura, or human energy field contains seven layers which each corresponds to one of the seven chakras points. Each layer of the aura has its own unique qualities and associations, often parallel to the chakras. All seven layers of the aura blend together to form the entire auric field and consist of consist of physical, emotional, mental and spiritual elements. The auric layers are also connected to the seven primary colors of the rainbow spectrum. The various colors that make up the aura can shift in shade and intensity according to one's personal vibration, or with changes in health or mood.

The Aura acts as an energetic blueprint or map of the thoughts, feelings and impressions surrounding a person. It reflects one's dominant state of mind, emotional disposition, and the health of the physical body. The aura will change in shape, size and colors to reflect any changes in thoughts, emotions and physical conditions. Positive thoughts and emotions will expand and strengthen the aura, while negative thoughts and emotions will contract or weaken it. Even the environment can have a positive or negative effect on aura.

Skilled clairvoyants or anyone with developed intuition can see or sense the aura and its various colors with their physical eyes or through their third eye" (the 'mind's eye'). The human energy field, or bio-electromagnetic field can also be viewed through the use of Kirlian Photography.

Viewing an aura will give insight into the individual's mood or their dominant vibration at the time. For example, physical issues or emotional distress may cause the aura to appear dull or thin with black or other darker colors near the affected area (often in the area of the chakra related to the issue). Aura colors can also be affected by one's level of spirituality or sense of connectedness. Spiritual masters are often seen and depicted in artwork with an intensely illuminated auras around them, or a halo of white, gold or purple light around the third eye or crown chakra area.

Auras can also be affected by the energy of the people around us. If you are around a person whom you feel threatened by, then your aura may shrink back as the other person's energy pushes against it. If two people are in love with one another then their auras will reach out to energetically mingle, creating a field of light around them both.

The energy within the aura can be shifted through intention, visualization and meditation. Specific colors can be infused into the aura for energy healing purposes or to create a shift in vibration or mood.

The concept of the Aura is often used to refer to the chakra system, but there is a difference between them. The chakras are distinct energy centres within the body that are anchored into place. Each chakra related to a different aspect of your life and physical body, and each chakra is associated with a primary color vibration. While the energy of the aura can change more frequently according to mood and intention, the chakras are more permenant and require greater intention or life change in order to shift the energies within them.


The Aura Colors and the Chakras
The 7 Layers of the Auric Field
The Seven Chakra Color Vibrations
Ecotherapy: Healing Through The Colors of Nature
Colour Therapy: Making it work for you
Aura Colors and Healing Techniques